Steve Gass
School Games Organiser
Tel: 01823 653996 / 653990
Mob: 077 88 628 526
Mailing address: 
1st Floor Offices, Castle Business Centre, Castle Road, Chelston Business Park, Wellington,TA21 9JQ  



2013 Schools Games


This year the event was for Primary Schools, and the event at Millfield attracted six year 5 teams and six year 6 teams.  a great day of badminton followed, with the winners being Hambridge for year 6, and High Ham for year 5. In the individual events, players from Ash and Elmhurst came out victorious.


2012 Schools Games

07/07/2012 21:49

Saturday saw over 50 year 7 and 8 children compete in the badminton event at the Somerset School Games, held at Millfield. Some fantastic performances eventaully saw Huish Episcopi triumph in the final by 3 games to 2 against Sexeys, everything being decided on the final mixed. Well done to the Huish team of Jamie Stanford, Will Rowe, Jasmine Toy and Charlotte Chew, and commiserations to Charlie Johns, Oliver Clothier, Siobhan Petre-Mears and Charlotte Peach of Sexeys.

Final placings yr 7/8- Gold - Huish Episcopi, Silver - Sexeys, Bronze - Castle. Plate Gold - Holyrood, Silver - Kingsmead, Bronze - Bishops Fox.


Sunday was another busy day, this time for years 9 and 10. The standard was very high in a lot of matches and the enthusiasm and commitment was excellent to watch. After a gruelling day, King Arthurs came out top, with a close 3-2 win in the final v Ansford. The KA players were Jenny Naylor, Helen O'Rourke, Zac Smith and Matt Callard-Weller.

Final placings yr 9/10- Gold - King Arthurs, Silver - Ansord, Bronze - Sexey's.

Final placings for the plate event yr 9/10- Gold - Castle, Sliver - Bishops fox, Bronze - Haygrove


Overall 370 games were played in 2 days. Every one of the games had an official scorer, so a big thank you to the many volunteers who helped the event run smoothly. This included a dozen SASP Junior Sportsmakers, plus Alice Clackson, Graham Hutchings, Lucy Rogers, Carl Harrison, Wendy Field, John O'Rourke, Michael Brook, Mike Vitiello, Amy Reddaway, Jane Reddaway and Martin Fox.


See here for the photos of the medallists -